Our Blog

A Chinese investor who owns a Premier Grand Cru?

  • Featured

Experts indicate that several wealthy candidates would be ready to take the plunge, while the purchases of Bordeaux domains continue.

China may be importing fewer Bordeaux wines, but Chinese investors are still looking to buy estates in Bordeaux. Three castles have recently been purchased by Chinese investors, and more are expected to follow. According to experts, wineries are seen as safe and sophisticated investments for conglomerates and industrial magnates alike. "The castle is one of the assets with the greatest trophy value," said Rupert Hoogewerf, founder of Shanghai-based Hurun Report, which tracks the wealth and habits of China's wealthiest people.

His words were confirmed by a Bordeaux real estate specialist. "Acquiring a castle is a new way to show your wealth without coming across as a nouveau riche, an image that is not valued in China," said Li "Lily" Lijuan, who works for the real estate agency Maxwell Storrie Baynes, a subsidiary of Christie's in Bordeaux.

According to her and others, Bordeaux remains the region of choice for Chinese investors looking to buy a domain abroad. "In Burgundy, it is more difficult to find a domain, and the Bordeaux region inspires more confidence [in customers]", indicated Li Lijuan. “This region is more open to foreigners, and resale is easier there. They look first and foremost in Saint-Émilion, it's well known. »

Most Chinese acquisitions are currently in modest areas, but many are planning to evolve as soon as the opportunity presents itself.

“Some of our Chinese investors are ready to put hundreds of millions of euros on the table. If a Premier Grand Cru is put up for sale, like Margaux or Cheval Blanc, the Chinese will be in the starting blocks,” said Hervé Olivier, director of financial operations at Safer (Land Development and Rural Settlement Company) Aquitaine. -Atlantic.

Maxwell Storrie Baynes recently completed two transactions with buyers who are listed by Hurun Report. Chen Miaolin, whose fortune would amount to 1.1 billion dollars (1 billion euros), bought the Château de Birot in the Cadillac appellation (Côtes de Bordeaux). The estate previously belonged to the Fournier-Castéja family. Arthur, the son of Eric Fournier, will retain the management of the estate which has 37 hectares of vines.

Chen Miaolin is the owner of China's largest private luxury hotel group, Zhejiang Kaiyuan (also called New Century Tourism), and recently purchased the Chateau d'Esclimont hotel near Versailles. He decided to invest in Bordeaux after leading a senior cycling team on the route of the Tour de France in 2011. “He saw the vineyard and decided he wanted a bit of the French way of life”, explained Li Lijuan.

He visited twenty castles before buying Château de Birot and would like to buy two or three more. Château Birot is already known in China thanks to the competition launched by its new owner for the design of a new label.

Li Lijuan also recently concluded the sale of Château Renon, which has around 10 hectares of vines located in the Côtes de Bordeaux. The buyer is Zhou "James" Yunjie, the owner of ORG Packaging. His fortune would amount to 1 billion dollars (95 million euros). A member of the Jurade de Saint-Émilion, he also imports wine and had already bought the Sunshine Creek winery in Australia's Yarra Valley in 2008.

“He knows people in Bordeaux. Initially, he only wanted a vacation home,” Li Lijuan explained. The 19th century residencee century was renovated in 2002 by a feng shui expert. It also includes 16th century cellars.e century and stables.

According to local sources, Château Preuillac, whose vineyard covers 30 hectares in the Médoc, has been sold to an unknown Chinese investor who already owns two other estates. The Mau and Dirkswager families decided to sell following two harvests with disastrously low yields.

Hervé Olivier told Wine Spectator that two other transactions with Chinese buyers were in progress: “One in Fronsac and one in the Médoc. These are not well-known domains but the terroir is interesting and these buyers do not have to face any competition. »

International banks have facilitated these investments by extending credit for the purchase of assets in China, while offering lower interest rates in France.

For Chinese investors, the learning curve for real estate in Bordeaux initially increased very quickly. Today, they glean advice from the growing Chinese community in the area. “Investors are more and more professional and know the classification. It's a long-term investment,” said Li Lijuan. “The vines give their best wine at twenty years. In China, in twenty years (or sooner), [the state] may decide to build a school on your vineyard. Bordeaux is a stable investment environment for the Chinese. »

Suzanne Mustacich

Posted on March 12, 2015

Wine Spectator

Tags : [sharebar1]

Discover our range of wines

Our Blog

Un investisseur chinois propriétaire d’un Premier Grand Cru ?

  • A la une

Des experts indiquent que plusieurs candidats fortunés seraient prêts à sauter le pas, alors que les achats de domaines bordelais se poursuivent.

La Chine importe peut-être moins de vins de Bordeaux, mais les investisseurs chinois cherchent toujours à acheter des domaines dans le Bordelais. Trois châteaux ont récemment été achetés par des investisseurs chinois, et d’autres devraient suivre. Selon les experts, les exploitations vinicoles sont perçues comme des investissements sûrs et sophistiqués, autant pour des conglomérats que pour des magnats de l’industrie. « Le château est un des actifs qui a la plus grande valeur de trophée », a expliqué Rupert Hoogewerf, le fondateur de Hurun Report, basé à Shanghai, qui suit l’évolution des richesses et des habitudes des plus grandes fortunes de Chine.

Ses propos ont été confirmés par une spécialiste de l’immobilier bordelais. « Acquérir un château est une nouvelle manière de montrer sa richesse sans passer pour un nouveau riche, une image qui n’est pas valorisée en Chine », a expliqué Li « Lily » Lijuan, qui travaille pour l’agence immobilière Maxwell Storrie Baynes, une filiale de Christie’s dans le Bordelais.

Selon elle et d’autres, le Bordelais reste la région de choix pour les investisseurs chinois qui cherchent à acheter un domaine à l’étranger. « En Bourgogne, il est plus difficile de trouver un domaine, et le Bordelais inspire plus de confiance [aux clients] », a indiqué Li Lijuan. « Cette région est plus ouverte aux étrangers, et la revente y est plus facile. Ils cherchent en premier lieu à Saint-Émilion, c’est très connu. »

La plupart des acquisitions chinoises concernent pour l’instant des domaines modestes mais beaucoup prévoient une évolution dès que l’opportunité se présentera.

« Certains de nos investisseurs chinois sont prêts à mettre des centaines de millions d’euros sur la table. Si un Premier Grand Cru est mis en vente, comme Margaux ou Cheval Blanc, les Chinois seront dans les starting blocks », a déclaré Hervé Olivier, directeur des opérations financières de la Safer (Société d’aménagement foncier et d’établissement rural) Aquitaine-Atlantique.

Maxwell Storrie Baynes a récemment conclu deux transactions avec des acheteurs qui figurent sur la liste de Hurun Report. Chen Miaolin, dont la fortune s’élèverait à 1,1 milliard de dollars (1 milliard d’euros), a acheté le Château de Birot dans l’appellation Cadillac (Côtes de Bordeaux). Le domaine appartenait jusque-là à la famille Fournier-Castéja. Arthur, le fils d’Eric Fournier, conservera la direction du domaine qui compte 37 hectares de vignes.

Chen Miaolin est propriétaire du plus grand groupe hôtelier de luxe privé de Chine, Zhejiang Kaiyuan (aussi appelé New Century Tourism), et a récemment acheté l’hôtel Château d’Esclimont près de Versailles. Il a décidé d’investir dans le Bordelais après avoir mené une équipe cycliste senior sur la route du Tour de France en 2011. « Il a vu le vignoble et a décidé qu’il voulait un peu de l’art de vivre français », a expliqué Li Lijuan.

Il a visité vingt châteaux avant d’acheter le Château de Birot et aimerait en acheter encore deux ou trois autres. Le Château Birot est déjà connu en Chine grâce au concours que son nouveau propriétaire a lancé pour la conception d’une nouvelle étiquette.

Li Lijuan a également conclu récemment la vente du Château Renon, qui compte environ 10 hectares de vignes situés dans les Côtes de Bordeaux. L’acheteur est Zhou « James » Yunjie, le propriétaire d’ORG Packaging. Sa fortune s’élèverait à 1 milliard de dollars (95 millions d’euros). Membre de la Jurade de Saint-Émilion, il importe aussi du vin et avait déjà acheté en 2008 l’entreprise vinicole Sunshine Creek dans la Yarra Valley en Australie.

« Il connaît du monde dans le Bordelais. Au départ, il voulait seulement une maison de vacances », a expliqué Li Lijuan. La demeure du XIXe siècle a été rénovée en 2002 par un expert du feng shui. Elle comporte également des caves du XVIe siècle et des étables.

Selon des sources locales, le Château Preuillac, dont le vignoble s’étend sur 30 hectares dans le Médoc, a été vendu à un investisseur chinois inconnu qui possède déjà deux autres domaines. Les familles Mau et Dirkswager ont décidé de vendre suite à deux récoltes aux rendements désastreusement bas.

Hervé Olivier a déclaré à Wine Spectator que deux autres transactions avec des acheteurs chinois étaient en cours : « Une à Fronsac et une dans le Médoc. Ce ne sont pas des domaines connus mais le terroir est intéressant et ces acheteurs n’ont à faire face à aucune concurrence. »

Les banques internationales ont facilité ces investissements en allongeant les crédits pour l’achat d’actifs en Chine, tout en proposant des taux d’intérêts plus bas en France.

Pour les investisseurs chinois, la courbe d’apprentissage de l’immobilier bordelais a d’abord augmenté très rapidement. Aujourd’hui, ils glanent des conseils auprès de la communauté chinoise grandissante dans la région. « Les investisseurs sont de plus en plus professionnels et connaissent la classification. C’est un investissement à long terme », a affirmé Li Lijuan. « Les vignes donnent leur meilleur vin à vingt ans. En Chine, dans vingt ans (ou plus tôt), [l’État] peut décider de construire une école sur votre vignoble. Le Bordelais est un environnement d’investissement stable pour les Chinois. »

Suzanne Mustacich

Publié le 12 mars 2015

Wine Spectator

Tags : [sharebar1]

Découvrir notre gamme de vins


This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work! Please upgrade today!